Never underestimate the knowledge of the Aspie in the room


I was on the streetcar with the kids Friday morning, taking them to school. As usual, the boy was filling my brain well beyond its capacity for all things Lego-related. He switched tracks a little (because it came out of a discussion of Lego Batman minifigs) to say, “You know, I’d really like to interview Bob Kane to learn from him directly about his ideas on where the Joker originally got his face scars.”

I paused. I was fairly certain I knew who he was talking about, but I admit to being taken aback by his statement.

“… And who is Bob Kane?” I finally asked him.

He looked at me like I had forgotten a major component of my brain on my bedside table that morning. The man beside me on the streetcar said, “He created Batman.” The two men beside him (we were in the back) were snickering in agreement, amused by the conversation taking place before them.

Okay, so now we’ve established that not only is my child a big giant comics nerd, but so is everyone on the back of the streetcar.

I replied, “Yes, I know that, but I’m trying to figure out how my 9-year-old, a self-avowed Marvel guy, would know that.”

My boy looked up, as close to my eyes as he generally gets, and said, deadpan, “I read credits, mom.”

That’s my boy.

5 Comments

  1. 'Vandyke Brown' said,

    May 10, 2010 at 7:46 am

    And your boy is seriously awesome with the deadpan.

    (My the boy fills my brain well beyond its capacity for all things Star-Wars-related.)

  2. Heather Ann said,

    May 10, 2010 at 8:07 am

    In this house, my husband is the comic book geek/nerd – whatever. The children have happily become his proteges and I am left not understanding much of the conversation. (I have an inability to read text that occurs in small balloons at different levels on the page.) Apparently, we are both DC and Marvel followers over here, although more DC. This is the type of conversation my 10 year old would have with her dad. I love to see their imaginations whirring.

  3. Jeannie said,

    May 10, 2010 at 1:12 pm

    This made me laugh. My son reads credits and has connected who the producer and directors are in Disney movies where they overlap, and also in Looney Tunes cartoons. He was very upset to learn that Mel Blanc was dead, and wanted to know what he had died of. He is not far into comics and graphic novels (beyond Tintin) but he does have the same inclination.

  4. Andrea said,

    May 13, 2010 at 11:08 pm

    I just came across this for something like the third or fourth time in my news reader. I keep marking it as unread. Makes me smile every time.

  5. pks said,

    June 29, 2010 at 12:48 am

    This is hysterical – what a great story! Thanks for sharing 🙂


Leave a Reply

